New month, new age, new me?

It’s June 1.

It deserves its own space – this time of year always does a number on me.

It means that we are already half-way through the year – and that time is flying by.  It means that summer is about to begin, and I may, or may not, be ready for showing some skin.  It means my birthday is very close, which is usually a fun time – not so much this year.

I cannot, absolutely cannot, believe how fast time is moving!!  Q is 3 – going on 21, of course – and I can’t even keep track of the things that she says because there are so many!!  She is no longer a toddler, but instead is her own little person…I.AM.NOT.READY.

Summer.  My least favorite season.  Don’t get me wrong – I love BBQ and sunshine and swimming and dining al fresco – it’s a perfectly lovely time of year.  It’s just that I hate to be hot.  Hate it.  Loathe it.  I look at it this way:  unless you are in the privacy of your home, there are only so many pieces of clothing that you can take off to cool down at a given time.  There is not, however, a limit to what you can put on your body to get warm!  Simple.

And then there’s my birthday….normally a somewhat fun occasion instead is, this year, an albatross.  Age does not normally bother me.  I don’t care if someone asks me how old I am because I don’t look my age.  But a friend of mine said something to me recently that has resonated in my brain on a daily basis:

“Right now you’re in your ’20s and 30s’ but, when you turn 40, you are in your ’40s and 50s’.”

It was like a slap to the face.  Don’t jump down my throat – I know it’s just a saying and age is just a number and it’s how you feel not how old you are and blah blah blah.  And I’m not even going to be 40!!!!  This is happening at 39!!!

I have one year and 11 days to learn to defy this way of thinking.  Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

Kristina's Krazy Adventure

where learning and sharing take place

Tales Of V

A blog that just wants you to think

Are You Finished Yet?

Trying to find some balance among the crazy!!

ZEIA

style and beauty

